My Favourite Prayers

SVBF Youth
3 min readApr 8, 2021

Today I would like to talk about my favourite prayers. But before I do that, I just want to throw some light on what according to me is the meaning of prayer and what is its importance. Why do we pray to God every day?

Prayer is our highest form of worship and devotion to God and is considered to be an integral part of our Hindu religion. Yoga and meditation are also considered as a form of devotional service. In the Sanskrit language, the word for prayer is ‘Prarthana’. It is formed by combining words, ‘pra’ meaning ‘intensely’ and ‘artha’ meaning ‘to plead’. Prayers are used in ritual worship (yajnas) as well as in domestic worship (puja).

So why do we pray? We pray to form a mental and spiritual connection with God through single-minded devotion. Through our prayers, we are seeking, enlightenment, peace, and asking God to calm the sea of restlessness in our bodies and minds. The aim of prayers is to surrender ourselves to God completely. It is the instrument that tunes our minds to the Divine. In our culture, each prayer has its role and purpose. Hence, with regular chanting and a proper understanding of the meaning of the prayer, we can transform ourselves.

Whom do we pray to? With the multitude of Gods and Goddesses in the Hindu religion, there are of course many prayers for each deity one believes in. Growing up I have learned a few prayers that are significant but the ones that I consider my favourite prayers are the ones I chant for Lord Ganesha and Goddess Sharadamba.

My favorite Lord Ganesha prayer is —
वक्रतुण्ड महाकाय सूर्यकोटि समप्रभ ।
निर्विघ्नं कुरु मे देव सर्वकार्येषु सर्वदा ॥
Vakra-Tunndda Maha-Kaaya Suurya-Kotti Samaprabha |
Nirvighnam Kuru Me Deva Sarva-Kaaryessu Sarvadaa ||

Meaning: O Lord Ganesha, of the bent trunk and big body, Your radiance is like that of infinite suns. Please always remove all obstacles from all my actions/work. This prayer instantly calms my mind and gives me the motivation and discipline to stay focused whether it’s in school or classes. I feel powerful and ready to take on any task or challenge without hesitation. Below is my artwork on my favourite God and how I perceive him.

My other favourite prayer is —
नमस्ते शारदे देवी काश्मीरपुरवासिनि
त्वामहं प्रार्थये नित्यं विद्यादानं च देहि मे ॥
Namaste Shaarade Devii Kaashmiira-Pura-Vaasini
Tvaam-Aham Praarthaye Nityam Vidyaa-Daanam Ca Dehi Me ||

Meaning: Salutations to Devi Sharada, Who abide in the abode of Kashmira. To You, O Devi, I always pray (for Knowledge); Please bestow on me the gift of that Knowledge (which illumines everything from within). I say this prayer because I want to always do well in my studies. I want to learn, sharpen my mind, increase my knowledge about lots of things.

Hope you enjoyed reading about my thoughts on Hinduism and knowing more about some of my favourite prayers and their meaning!!
OM SHANTI SHANTI SHANTIHI

Bio: My name is Sahaana Aiyer and I am 8 years old. I live in Ontario, Canada with my parents Parvati and Karthik. I am currently in Grade 3, studying at Whitehorn Public School. Music is my passion and I have been learning Carnatic music and Western vocals for the last two years. I sing more than I talk :) My other hobbies include coding, arts and crafts, theatre and drama, reading, and playing video games. I live in a neighbourhood with lots of kids and I am lucky to have some good friends around me. One of my favourite trips is always visiting home in India where I get to spend quality family time with my grandparents and extended family.

--

--